Apropos of Nothing

I’m sorry that the song I played wasn’t the song you heard
Wasn’t the song you wanted to hear
Or thought you remembered in a time like this
In a place not reminiscent of a place like this
When the music played
(But not this arrangement)

The feeling welled up in you
And you felt oh-so-very
Whatever it is that you felt

And that the way you might be feeling
(if I knew what you feel)
Is not the same way that I feel
about the time that I’m remembering
When I kissed you
I kissed someone not quite unlike you
But not altogether the same
Her breath like mint cherries
Sadly these things don’t stand up to comparison

But who was it you kissed that night?
The night I can’t explain because I wasn’t really there?
If you please, name and address,
To take him/her for black coffee
And crumb cake

Could be almost informative
And will help the next time
I don’t know what I don’t know
Can’t feel what you’re feeling

When we witness the same star
And we both still whisper “love”

2 Responses to “Apropos of Nothing”

  1. I’m digging this poem – it’s bittersweet without being angry, it’s poignant without being saccharine, and it’s self-aware without being too ironic.

    Like

  2. PiterJankovich Says:

    My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

    Like

Leave a Reply

