Ask me twice

Oh. I’ve got jokes.
And plans to spare
A mean little air
Of something to prove
I’ll conjure for you
(just for you)
In nice little turns
A flash and burn
A crack of a pot
A slide of a slot
And double down, double down
Double down, dear
Or fold
It’s likely to be a bumpy ride

Ask me
Ask me twice
For pretty words
I dare you

The ingénue left the building
He’s weeping his way to posterity
Whatever’s left, the tangled mess of me
You want poetry?
Ask me again.
I never know what I’ll say.

Leave a Reply

