my hero

Shoulders back
Neck straight
Head cocked to the side
Leading with the chin
A confident smirk
Cigarette clenched between teeth
As he expands in one long breath
Across 800 miles of pavement

He
Had a mission
He
Would never falter
He
Would win like a hero would win

By the power of cocksure belief alone
Unflappable faith that luck really truly does play favorites
For children and fools especially
(And he, most favored, was both to be sure)
Hair twisted in the front
In an elaborate curl
To hide or accentuate a growing silver streak at the temple

He knew what he had to do and did it
With half a plan and
A feckless grin
Because it was all so funny, he said
When observed from the right orientation

He left that night
Tires squealing throwing sparks
A fire on dry grass
Destination inevitable

And maybe he made it…

He left and I stayed
And I’m not sure where he ended up
Maybe someday he’ll come back
Tell me of his adventure
His narrow escape
His rich rewards

I stayed
Compromised
And let the days grind me like a stone
My hero
How I miss him

2 Responses to “my hero”

  1. Kristen Says:

    I think I love your hero.

    Like

  2. unsensible Says:

    have you seen him? let me know how he’s doing…it’s not the same around here

    Like

Leave a Reply

