Talking in the basement till 4AM

Tell me two things I’ve never heard before
I’ll give you ten new reasons to believe
Your throat in half shade rises and falls
You swallow the words you’ve whispered
In and in till there is no visible exhale

4 AM bursts from my eyes like Chinese dragons
We huddle closer over our knees
Our backs two arcs bending
Faces adumbrate in silhouette
Curling lips lit by sparks falling
A halo expanding
Constant acceleration
in the luminescent ether

I’ll talk till there’s no breath in my body
Then light one up and talk again

Leave a Reply

