No harm, no foul

It doesn’t hurt that you don’t love me
I’m not pale and tender anymore

It doesn’t hurt that you tricked me
I’ve been fooled by worse than you and lived to play the fool again

It doesn’t hurt that you didn’t mean it, never meant it, will never mean it
Don’t even know the address of the building of the basement

Where you kept anything true about you behind locked door
in a dissipated old box with other quaint antiquities

It hurts that it doesn’t hurt you

I’m shadow boxing feints and jabs at a specter of a creature
That I called love between the shadows of  my weakness and my misbegotten notions

“He beats his fists against the posts,
and still insists he sees the ghosts”

One Response to “No harm, no foul”

  1. Same here….i can relate….stuck in same situatiin

    Like

Leave a Reply

